Andrew’s Quiz (1)
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1. Hand B is correct: bidding the cheaper of four-card suits as responder. 
With Hand (A), you should support spades immediately with four cards, bidding 3. 
With Hand (C), you are not strong enough for a two-over-one response [failing the Rule of 14: the points in the hand plus the number of cards in the long suit do not reach 14] and you should respond the “dustbin” 1NT.

2. Hand B is correct. Your 1NT rebid shows 15-16 balanced. 
Holding Hand (A) you should rebid 2, to show your five-four shape. 
Holding Hand (C), you should support spades, an eight-card major-suit fit is always the highest priority.

3. Hand B is correct – yes, the third B in a row. Your 2 is a weakness take-out of partner’s 15-16 balanced and Hand B fits the bill – note that you should certainly dredge up a response to 1 despite being one point shy of the six points, because you are so keen to introduce spades (and not play in hearts). 
With Hand (A) you have enough to bid 4 over the 1NT rebid – knowing of the eight-card spade fit and the values for game. 
With Hand (C) you would not respond 1 at all, you would support hearts immediately, the singleton diamond being so powerful that you would raise 1 to 4 immediately.

4. Hand C is correct. Perfect for Blackwood – a slammy hand that is worried the partnership are missing two aces. Over a 5/ reply showing either no aces (5) or one ace (5), you will sign off in 5. Over a 5 reply (two aces) you will bid 6. 
With (Hand (A) you should just sign off in 4 - your hand is much too flat to think about a slam. 
Hand (B) is way more powerful, but asking for aces will not help – you are only missing one “cashing” ace. Simply blast 6!

5. Hand (A) is correct – your hand looks much more suited to play in 4 than defence. Your spade honours will be very useful to partner in 4 but useless on defence to 4. Holding four hearts means partner will be very short, so the hands will fit very well. 
With Hand (B), you should double: your hearts will be worth two tricks on defnce and you have two side aces – 4 is bound to fail (unless declarer has a void spade) and 4 may well not make as you are very “aces and spaces”. 
With Hand (C), you should pass. Your hand is nothing special – insufficient length in spades and overly flat shape for 4 and no great prospects of beating 4.
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